An opportunity to visit one of the regions most attractive mill sites
This beautifully situated c.1820 mill houses a large waterwheel and a powerful Tangye Steam engine, which can be seen in action (although not by steam as its boiler has long gone).
A fascinating and historic site, beside the canal and railway.
The mill is privately owned and is only open on selected days with kind permission of the owner.
Tours are at the times and dates shown. Please pre-book with Ian Mackintosh
By Car: Park near the Round House at Chalford, off the A419 and walk along the canal towpath. If coming by foot along the road you will encounter one of the few manned railway crossings.
Bus: See Stagecoach for buses to Chalford. Bus stop for St. Mary’s.
Disabled access can be accommodated by driving down via the level crossing. The ground is somewhat uneven as is the brick floor within the mill. There is a step down into the steam engine room.
Toilets are not available at this site (except for Family Days).